THOUGHTS

Growing up in a Nigerian home, I remember watching some Nigerian movies (aka ‘home videos’thumbs-up-emoji-3). Lol, I mean those movies that our aunties and uncles in church used to preach against. They were ever ready to lay hands and pray for those of us that lived for those moments when our parents leave the house, and our nannies take the remote control and look at us like

thumbs up emoji 19.jpg

And then you’ll get excited even though your parents have banned y’all from watching Nigerian movies. But, you’ll watch it anyway so you can have stories to tell your friends. And come on! Breaking rules is always much more funthumbs-up-emoji-10

Anyway, I honestly believe one of the intentions of producing those kind of movies was to cause children to grow into paranoid teenagers and adults. Lmao, they made us believe that when you’re out on the street or you’re in your hometown, every man you meet is either a kidnapper or a thief and every woman is either a witch or a wizardthumbs-up-emoji-3. Well, they achieved their goal because, sometimes I’m paranoid like thatthumbs-up-emoji-12. Lol we eventually grow out of that thought (and Nigerian movies have changed drastically. Like damn, we should start winning Oscars fam!)

It’s just like most parents telling their children, “Never talk to strangers and never have a boyfriend/girlfriend”. But they somehow want us to get married. Likethumbs-up-emoji-20

 I always thought my parents were cool, as in, they weren’t typical Nigerian parents. But one day, my mum proved me wrongthumbs-up-emoji-10 . I put a guy’s picture as my Whatsapp display photo. It wasn’t just any random guy. The guy was and is my very good friend. Anyway, my mum was in the living room, and I was in my bedroom. I kid you not, she sent me a message on Whatsapp! The conversation went something like this:

MUM: Who is that in your display photo?

ME: My friend.

MUM: Will you remove that boy from your dp now!!!thumbs up emoji 21.jpgthumbs-up-emoji-21

ME: Why?

(I was going to remove it anyway, because I don’t disobey my parents. Well, not on purposethumbs-up-emoji-5. But I just wanted to know why)

MUM: You want people to see a boy as your display photo and begin to think ill of you? 

(And she said some other things about it being irresponsible and how it shows that I lack training and how it was time to for her to start questioning my morals and bla bla bla).

I was in shock because:

  1. It turned out my parents weren’t as cool as I thought. LMAO!
  2. My brain couldn’t just comprehend the whole situation!

ME: Okay. (Then I removed the picture)

MUM: I will tell your father about this.

Okay, if this was, maybe 2008, I would have run to her and began to beg for mercy because, you know you’re in SERIOUS trouble once my mum said she was going to report to my father. Oh my Godthumbs-up-emoji-3thumbs-up-emoji-3.

But unfortunately, that was 2016, and I just said to myself

thumbs-up-emoji-22

That was my exact facial expression.

Lol, I don’t know if she eventually told my father because I’m still waiting for my morals to be questioned by him. But anyway, your parents/guardians will always be your parents/guardians, no matter what the law says. They will always look out for you.

But next time, if my mum tries to scare me by dropping that ‘I’ll tell your father about this/Wait till your father comes home’ punchline….only five words for her

thumbs up emoji 23.png

LMAO!

Thank you for your timethumbs-up-emoji-2Well, cash me on my next post okay?! Okay bye!!!

thumbs-up-emoji-12

One thought on “THOUGHTS

Leave a Reply

